No Entry: Travellers From These 3 Countries No Longer Allowed Into Malaysia

Better safe than sorry.

  • Share:

No Entry: Travellers From These 3 Countries No Longer Allowed Into Malaysia
AFP via The Star

More countries may be added to the list.

The number of imported COVID-19 cases are on the rise in our country as more and more Malaysians and permanent residents return home.
Perhaps due to this, the government has decided to bar travellers from three countries effective September.

Govt monitoring the situation 

According to Free Malaysia Today, Senior Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has announced that those returning from India, Indonesia, and the Philippines will no longer be allowed to enter Malaysia  due to worrying number of cases in those countries.
The restrictions apply to permanent residents, Malaysia My Second Home pass holders, expatriates, spousal visa holders and foreign students effective 7 September.
Ismail says the government is currently monitoring COVID-19 cases around the world as winter is coming, and that could mean a spike in cases.
“We will monitor the situation in other countries and if there is a spike in positive cases, we will do the same (restrictions). This decision will be made based on advice from the ministry, ” Ismail Sabri said.
The government is also wary on how to prepare for the return of Malaysian citizens from countries experiencing winter as they cannot prevent them from returning as it is against the Constitution.
Stay safe, wherever you are.
The Health Ministry will continue to monitor the situation and advise the government if there is the need to restrict more nationalities into the country.
The war against the COVID-19 pandermic is far from over, so always remember to wear a facemask correctly, practise social distancing, and frequently sanitise or wash your hands.

  • Share:


Related Articles

Back to top