CLOSE
CLOSE

You Need To Agree To WhatsApp's Updated Privacy Policy By 15 May Or Lose Your Access To The App

You won't be able to send or receive messages.


  • Share:

You Need To Agree To WhatsApp's Updated Privacy Policy By 15 May Or Lose Your Access To The App
Remember earlier this year when there was a huge uproar over WhatsApp's latest privacy update? 

The latest update, which was supposed to come into effect in February, was delayed due to massive backlash which resulted in legal challenge in India, investigation into the company owned by Facebook Inc and millions of people leaving WhatsApp for Signal and Telegram. 

Now, the messaging service has given an ultimatum: agree to their terms, or you don't get to access the app any more.

A little recap

Sneaky or payment for usage?
When users first received the updates, many were outraged to find out that it would allow WhatsApp to share the content of private messages sent using the app will be shared with Facebook. 

WhatsApp later clarified that this is not the case and assured users that their data is safe. The messages you send to friends and family are encrypted and cannot be read, unless you get hacked. 

What the new update to privacy policy means is that WhatsApp will be working with Facebook when it comes to Business Messaging. 

"Every day, millions of people around the world communicate securely with businesses of all sizes on WhatsApp. We want to make this easier and better if you choose to message with businesses. We will always be clear within WhatsApp when you are communicating with any business that uses these features.


"Messaging with businesses is different than messaging with your family or friends. Some large businesses need to use hosting services to manage their communication. Which is why we’re giving businesses the option to use secure hosting services from Facebook to manage WhatsApp chats with their customers, answer questions, and send helpful information like purchase receipts.

"But whether you communicate with a business by phone, email, or WhatsApp, it can see what you’re saying and may use that information for its own marketing purposes, which may include advertising on Facebook. To make sure you’re informed, we clearly label conversations with businesses that are choosing to use hosting services from Facebook," WhatsApp states on its FAQ page. 

WhatsApp has already been sharing some of its users' data such as phone number and device information since 2016. Before you get all up in arms about this, know that this is stated in their privacy policy, which most of us agree to without reading. 

Now, the new update will allow the messaging app to share even more data with Facebook, such as payment and transaction data so they can improve on their targeted ads. 

What happens if you don't agree to the update?

giphy-(75).gif
If you don't agree with the latest update, you might as well delete the app and move to a different service provider. 

This may be easier said than done, especially if you're in dozens of WhatsApp groups including work-related ones. 

Facebook also probably knows a lot more about you than your own mother anyway, so unless you want to get rid of all the apps owned by Facebook Inc., you're probably stuck with its apps for the rest of your life. 


According to Tech Crunch, WhatsApp will list your account as 'inactive' for a short period of time before deleting your account if you don't accept the privacy policy by 15 May.

During this period, you can still see all the messages, pictures, documents and memes you've sent others but will no longer be able to send or receive new messages. 

We wonder what would happen if even half of the couple of billion WhatsApp user decide to delete their accounts. Will the parent company stop being so intrusive?

We guess we'll only find out in May.

  • Share:

Comments

Related Articles

Back to top