For the past few months, the iconic candy of our childhood, White Rabbit Candy, has made its way to our hearts (and tummies) via various spin-offs.
From boba tea to artisanal ice cream, you name it, we probably had it.
However, the popular candy was thrust into the spotlight for all the wrong reasons.
Brunei’s Ministry of Religious Affairs (MoRA) recently ran a lab test on the candy to determine its content and the results came out as a shock.
Pig protein was reportedly detected in the candy, which makes the candy non-halal for Muslims.
Brunei news portal, Pelita Brunei
, reported that the ministry has urged importers and retailers to isolate the product and place it in the non-halal section.
“Muslims who purchased the candy should not consume it and stay away from it.”
The Chinese-made milk candy is very popular especially in Southeast Asia.
Following the shocking discovery, the Sarawak Islamic Religious Department (Jais) will conduct their own laboratory tests on the White Rabbit Candy, according to MSN News
The White Rabbit Candy does not bear any halal logo.
So… does this mean that our whole childhood is a lie? Have we Muslims been eating haram candy all this while?
Let's just wait for the lab results.